Frequent Snapchat users may have noticed a strange “X” symbol next to some names on the chat page. But what the hell does the X mean?
Snapchat has many buttons and icons that users need to follow, including a confusing “X” icon that appears next to some Snapchat names. On the surface, Snapchat looks like a pretty basic app. You can receive photos/videos from friends, send your own photos to share and that’s it, right?
You’re fine this functionality is still the bread and butter of Snapchat, nowadays there is much more to the app. On the Stories page, you can see posts from Snapchat friends and broadcasts from BuzzFeed, Vice, and more. There’s even more content to check out on the Spotlight page, with endless TikTok-like videos to use. You can also use Snapchat to see your friends on the virtual snap map, play around with different AR filters, and even learn American Sign Language.
With so much going on on Snapchat, it’s not surprising that people often have questions about what certain buttons/settings have in the app. A good example of this is the X that often appears next to Snapchat names. The chat page on Snapchat displays a list of all your ongoing conversations. If you last received a photo from someone, a camera icon WILL appear next to their name. When you receive a text message from them, a chat icon WILL appear instead. But sometimes the camera and chat icons have an X behind them.
The real meaning behind the X on Snapchat
Like many parts of Snapchat, the X next to people’s names isn’t spelled clearly. Some names have the camera and chat icons next to them, other names have the X icon, and there’s no guide on what it means. Fortunately, the answer is quite simple.
If you see the X next to a Snapchat name, it means that person has sent you a friend request, which you haven’t accepted yet. When you reply to the name, two buttons appear: an “Accept” button that accepts a friend request, and a “Report or Block” button that allows you to report or block the person. Alternatively, if you tap the X next to your name, you’ll see a few options on the chat page to report, block, or remove the conversation from your screen. So all about it! The X next to Snapchat names is not a bug or an annoying feature. If loves, it’s just a reminder that you have pending friend requests to work on. It would be nice if Snapchat made it clearer, but now you know.